top of page
  • Writer's pictureStudio Four-One-Two

Spring Cleaning: Sustainably Selling Your Clothes

By Sydney Mahmood


I finally woke up to Spring. The more time I spend on campus, the more I realize warmer weather is a necessity. The second sunshine hits my eyes, I feel like I have been resuscitated alive again. I haven't stepped foot in a shuttle yet, and door dash just lost one customer to a walker. This piece isn't a love letter to this season, but I had to show a little love for the 70-degree weather lately.

Come this Spring, my favorite things start to sprout again. Rita's gelato (don't knock on Swedish Fish & Chocolate Custard), late sunsets, beautiful flowers, and cleaning…Yes, I said cleaning. Don't get me wrong, when I filled out my roommate assessment, I chose the messy option. But there's something about a cracked window open while throwing heavy winter clothes in a trash-bag to donate that really gets to me. It also is the underrated motivator for shopaholics like me.

I am not a local, but I plan to stay in Pittsburgh for a good while, so I have been looking for ways to stay sustainable and more importantly locally. Goodwill and Salvation Army, although are many people's first options, are places I have been trying to practice as being my last. To briefly summarize how I came to this decision, about 4.6 billion pounds of donated items are dropped in the landfill each year by Goodwill. This contributes to the 12 million tons of U.S textile waste that ends up there as well.

Your carbon footprint is more important than ever, so here are a few suggestions on how to make a difference during spring cleaning.

Local Charity/Thrift Shops

Support small businesses! Charity shops will donate back to the community and homeless, so always check their website to see if there is a special organization you would like to support!

Free Store --> They will take your items such as in-style clothing and furniture and redistribute them to neighbors in need!

Avalon Exchange --> You can schedule a donation meeting with them and can receive 30% in cash or 45% in store credit of the resale value! Check out more on their website: https://avalonexchange.com/pittsburgh/

Social Media

This is one of my favorite ways to earn quick cash while barely having to leave my home.


Facebook Marketplace --> People can come to you and pay for items you have that fits their needs. You can also just strictly upload it for free.


Depop/Poshmark --> My favorite apps to sell clothing! Depop/Poshmark are online marketplaces where you can sell your own creations or sell a few items you own that have been collecting dust. They provide step-by-step instructions on how to sell, along with a shipping label and estimated shipping cost for easy use.

Upcycle

If you have a creative touch, this is something to always consider. Make your old new!

Yard Sales

Definitely "old-fashioned," but can save you shipping costs, and the community. Especially college students would appreciate it.

 

So, consider these options first before you head to Goodwill, and always make sure that throwing items away in the trash is your last resort.

Check out this website for more information and locations!







16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page