top of page
  • Writer's pictureStudio Four-One-Two

Rainbow Recs


I know they say to never judge a book or album by it‘s cover… but what about color?


I asked our writers here at Studio 412 to send me their favorite albums based on the color so that we could share our “Rainbow Recs” with you. Find a new favorite album whether it‘s red, purple, or black. Along with submitting our album recommendations, we also shared our top three favorite songs in each and what makes it special to us.


Happy Listening!

~Belle


RED

Red by Taylor Swift (Jamie)

- Besides the title, it expresses such intense emotion that it makes you feel it in an almost aggressive way.

II by Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Belle)

- This is my favorite Sunday morning chill album. Top 3: “So Good at Being in Trouble” , “The Opposite of Afternoon”, and “Monki”

Nectar by Joji (Kate)

- Love listening to this album to relax. Top 3: “Like You Do”, “Your Man”, “Gimme Love”

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy by Kanye West (Jess)

- This album tells such a cool story when you listen through it. I actually wrote about this album and how it relates to my life as my entry essay for Pitt! Top 3: “Monster ft. Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj, and Bon Iver“, “Devil in a New Dress ft. Rick Ross” , “Runaway ft. Pusha T“

ANTI by Rihanna (Sydney)

- I feel so powerful and feminine listening to this album. Also she blesses us with my favorite cover of tame impala’s original. Top 3: “Kiss it Better”, “Same ol Mistakes”, “Sex with Me”


ORANGE

Hozier by Hozier (Jamie)

- The album is just warm and brings you home.

Hozier by Hozier (Kate)

- This album reminds me of my best friend. Top 3: “From Eden”, “Jackie and Wilson”, “Cherry Wine”

Apollo XXI by Steve Lacy (Belle)

- Just an overall no skip album, the best vibes. Top 3: “Hate CD”, “Basement Jack”, “N Side”

Digital Druglord by Blackbear (Jess)

- This album defined 2017 and still hits the absolute same. Top 3: “hell is where I dreamt of u and woke up alone”, “make daddy proud”, “chateau“

Fake It Flowers by Beabadoobee (Sydney)

- I’m a sucker for anything by bea, she’s this generations rockstar. Top 3: “Dye it red”, “Care”, ”Together”


YELLOW

Don‘t Smile at Me by Billie Eilish (Jamie)

- The album cover art and just the mixture of happy and sad emotions.

Don‘t Smile at Me by Billie Eilish (Jess)

- Listening to this album now has such nostalgic vibes. I looove Billie's old music! Top 3: “bellyache”, “idontwannabeyouanymore”, “COPYCAT“

Forever Turned Around by Whitney (Belle)

- I am obsessed with his voice, and this album reminds me of home. Top 3: “My Life Alone”, “Used To Be Lonely”, “Friend of Mine”

Romeo & Juliet by Peter McPoland (Kate)

- Its just a single! so, top song is Romeo and Juliet lol. I listened to this song on repeat last summer, so many good memories.

Fearless TV by Taylor Swift (Sydney)

- This was the first album I fell in love with. I have the best memories of my mom and I singing to it in the car. Top 3: “Tell me Why”, ”forever&always”, “Love Story”


GREEN

Stranger in the Alps by Phoebe Bridgers (Jamie)

- To me this album is full of nature and feelings of the outdoors.

Sunflower by Briston Maroney (Belle)

- I have this album on vinyl, one of my favorites play when hanging out with friends. Top 3: “Bottle Rocket”, “Sinkin’”, “Rollercoaster”

Warm Glow by Hippo Campus (Kate)

- Very happy and upbeat, always makes me smile. Top 3: “baseball”, “warm glow”, “traveler”

A Letter to my Younger Self by Quinn XCII (Jess)

- This album reminds me of the first quarantine lockdown; sitting outside in my best friend's backyard wondering what will happen next. Top 3: ”Sleep While I Drive ft. Ashe”, “More Than Friends”, “Am I High Rn ft. blackbear”

Good kid m.A.A.d city by Kendrick Lamar (Sydeny)

- He is an amazing rapper who actually tells stories and deserves all the hype. Top 3: “Bitch don’t kill my vibe”, “Swimming Pools”, “Money Trees”


BLUE

Melodrama by Lorde (Jamie)

- It is the perfect sad girl music.

The Avalanche by Sufjan Stevens (Belle)

- This is my comfort album. Top 3: “The Henney Buggy Band”, “Adlai Stevenson”, “The Mistress Witch from McClure”

Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not by Arctic Monkeys (Kate)

- AHHHH I love this album so much and listen to it literally everyday. Top 3: “Fake Tales of San Francisco”, “Red Light Indicated Doors Are Secure”, “Mardy Bum”

Blue Neighborhood by Troye Sivan (Jess)

- This album defined high school freshman me and was way ahead of its time. Top 3: “for him.”, “FOOLS”, “BITE“

Nothing Happens by Wallows (Sydney)

- They do a great job at touching teenage emotions like anxiety and nostalgia. Top 3: “Treacherous Doctor”, ”Do Not Wait”, “Remember When”


PURPLE

Thank You For Today by Death Cab For Cutie (Belle)

- Reminds me of home. Top 3: “Autumn Love”, “Summer Years”, “Northern Lights”

SOUR by Olivia Rodrigo (Kate)

- Screamsinging good 4 u after working an 8 hour retail shift is my idea of a fun friday night. Top 3: “enough for you”, “good 4 u”, “deja vu“

Currents by Tame Impala (Jess)

- Tame Impala is one of my favorite bands of all time and this album is a spiritual experience. I just saw them in concert (Yes I cried). Top 3: Eventually”, “Let it Happen”, “New Person, Same Old Mistakes“

When My Heart Felt Volcanic by The Aces (Sydney)

- They make songs for the she/theys/gays. Top 3: “Volcanic love”, “Waiting for You”, ”Last One”


PINK

IGOR by Tyler, the Creator (Belle)

- One of my favorite albums to play walking around campus. Top 3: “I THINK”, “NEW MAGIC WAND”, “ARE WE STILL FRIENDS?”

Harry Styles by Harry Styles (Kate)

- Harry Styles...Enough said. Top 3: “Woman”, “Carolina”, “Sign of the Times“

Rainbow by Kesha (Jess)

- This was Kesha's first album back after her legal dispute and she did not disappoint. Each song has a different vibe and it's truly a masterpiece. Top 3: “Boots”, “Hunt You Down”, “Hymn“

Malibu Nights by LANY (Sydney)

- Perfect breakup album for all emotions during it. Top 3: “If you see her”, “I don’t want to love you anymore”, “Valentine’s Day“


BLACK

Historian by Lucy Dacus (Jamie)

- This album is dark and harsh in the best way possible.

Dopamine by Børns (Belle)

- Not a single bad song on this album. Top 3: “Dopamine”, “Past Lives”, “Holy Ghost”

AM by Arctic Monkeys (Kate)

- Favorite album of all time...you can pry it from my cold, dead hands. Top 3: “Snap Out Of It“, “Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High?”, “Arabella”

Four by One Direction (Jess)

- I'm a One Direction stan until I die. This is by far their best album and I STAND by that. Top 3: “Night Changes”, “Fireproof“, “Stockholm Syndrome”

Wiped Out! By the Neighborhood (Sydney)

- Listening to this album was the closest I got to being emo. Top 3: “The beach”, “Daddy Issues”, “Ferrari”


WHITE

Reputation by Taylor Swift (Jamie)

- It's all about starting clean and going in a new direction.

Pony by Rex Orange County (Belle)

- I have an emotional attachment to this album. Top 3: “It Gets Better”, “Laser Lights”, “Face to Face”

Suck it and See by The Arctic Monkeys (Kate)

- Got me through last semester lol. Top 3: “All My Own Stunts”, “Piledriver Waltz”, “Reckless Serenade“

Crybaby by Lil Peep (Jess)

- Picking my top three for this album was so hard, all of these songs have a special meaning to me. Top 3: “big city blues”, “ghost girl“, “yesterday“

A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships by The 1975 (Sydney)

- This album is like a collection of things that happen in the world or emotions we all go through in song forms, and I think it’s really cool. Top 3: “Love it if We Made it”, “It’s not Living”, ”Sincerity is Scary“




52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page